PILGRIMAGE - ukraine-travel


When visiting Ukraine it is essential to visit Zarvanytsia - the village is known for its icon of the Mother of God, reputed to work miracles, and is a popular site of pilgrimage, attracting Ukrainians and Christians from all around the world.  The history of the village and the icon dates back to the 13th century. In 1240, a monk fled the Ukrainian capital of Kiev, which was devastated by a Mongol invasion, and stopped in a secluded valley to drink water from a spring and pray to the Blessed Virgin.

Having done so, and exhausted by the long travel, he fell asleep and saw the Mother of God. After awakening completely rejuvenated, he found the icon and decided to stay there and build a chapel by the spring to house the icon. News of the miraculous icon spread among the local population and reached the gravely sick duke of Terebovlia - Vasylko (brother of the only Ukrainian king Danylo of Halych).

The duke ordered the icon to be brought to him but when the monk refused, he himself traveled to Zarvanytsia and prayed in front of the icon and was cured. Out of gratitude, he founded a church and monastery there. The temple complex of the church and monastery now belongs to the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church. Christians from all around the world are attracted by the healing power of the holy places. Do not miss the chace to go on pilgrimage tours with Aven-Tour!


Nadvirna-Pohonya-Nadvirna Departure from the Nadvirna city (Ivano-Frankivsk railway station), 1B Shevchenka Maidan  The XXIII International Pilgrimage of the Prayer Rope for the peace and unity of the Church on the occasion of the year of God's Word and the 1030th anniversary of the baptism of Ukraine-Rus will take place in the Monastery of the Assumption of the Mother of God (village Pohonya of Tysmenytsky deanery of Ivano-Frankivsk Archeparchy). Tour Operator Aven-Tour invites everyone to travel to the holy place. The Monastery of the Assumption of the Mother of God is located in the village of Pohonya. For the first time, the miraculous icon of Mothe of God, which is in the monastery, was mentioned in the chronicles in the first half of the 17th century. The icon, written by an anonymous artist in about 1650, until the end of the century was kept here in a small church.